Lupes last picture

I should probably write more in this blog.  I lay awake at night thinking about what I would write.  But then I am just so damned tired.

My dear cat just died.  By the way, I am thinking of re-naming this blog “mystupidcat” or “myhusbandsstupidexwife”, because I seem to be writing about them a lot.  I really need to find a life.

ANYway, poor Lupita. Poor me.  I miss her so much.  We paid (a small fortune) to have a mobile vet come to the house on Sunday to put her to sleep.  On Friday, I had sort of convinced myself everything might be ok.  Maybe for a few days, maybe for a week, hell, maybe for a month.  She ate something that day for the first time in something like 6 days, and afterwards let me groom her with a brush for over half an hour.  She was a very, very pretty and happy kitty.  I swear she was smiling. I know she was happy.

Saturday she was just so-so.   I slept (for the 5th night in a row) on a twin mattress on the floor in the living room, just to be close to her.  She did not have a good night.  Very restless, very vocal and needy.  She went into the fireplace, sat on the grate, and peed.  Not a good sign.

In the morning, Lupe was weaker than ever.  She couldn’t walk more than a few steps before giving up and lying down.  Her meow was different.  I couldn’t wait another day to put her out of her misery, so called this vet I found on the internet.  He said he could be there in half an hour.

This was both good news and terrifying news.  I started to have a mild panic attack.  Half an hour, and the grim reaper would be at my house.  All I could do was hold her, rock back and forth, and cry. 

This cat has been the most steady thing in my life for over a decade.  She has lived in 4 houses with me.  She has been through 3 major relationships with me (current one still going.  Thankgod).  She has comforted me through some serious drama no woman should ever have to go through.  She has been such a good, good kitty. 

The grim reaper came, his name was Barry, he was a nerdy guy in his mid-forties or so and had braces.  He talked to us for a while and evaluated Lupita and agreed she was suffering.  In the living room, on top of the mattress I had been sleeping on for a week, I held her as he sedated her.  She did not flinch as the needle went in, and she fell asleep quickly.  Then he euthanized her with another syringe, I will always remember that the solution was blue, and there was a lot of it.  It took a million years for him to slowly inject it into her.  Whenever she finally went, I do not know.  I really thought I would know; I thought I’d be able to feel it somethow. After he took out the needle, he used his stethoscope and confirmed her heart had stopped.

I kept petting her.  It was so hard to believe she was gone.  The vet took her paw print in a piece of clay and wrote her name in it. I cannot bear to look at it; I don’t even know where it is right now. I can only hope Lupe knows that I took good care of her, I did everything I could and I loved her so very much. 

I finally had to hand her over; the vet covered her up and took her with him.  I will get her ashes sometime in the next few days. 

I can’t believe how hard this has been.  It ranks right up there with my miscarriages, honestly, but it is different.  I never knew my babies, but I knew my BabyLu.  It is incredibly difficult to come home to a house without her.  I miss her yelling at me when I get home, berating me for daring to leave her alone for 9 hours.  I miss feeding her the stinky-ass wet food that she loved.  I miss how she talked to me, how she listened to me.  I miss talking to my husband about how “Lu did this, or Lu did that”.  Most of all, I miss Lupe coming to bed with us, getting under the blanket, and spooning with me.  So many things are lonely without my Babycat.

I don’t know what to do next. There is a giant hole in my heart.

Sweet dreams, my love.